Q30 causes bluescreens on Windows 10 when using Microsoft Teams (randomly) - cause is Bluetooth 4.0

Hello,

I’ve thought that I will leave a small info with my findings. I’ve decided to register, because my headphones are failing (whistling sound when ANC is on), BUT before I’ll try to exchange them I wanted to leave this message to the community, because it took me litterly months to narrow the cause down :).

I’ve been using the Q30 since March 2022, and I like them very much. However immediatelly one issue start to happen randomly during Microsoft Teams converstions - a Windows bluescreen occured. It could show up in like few first minutes of a converstion, or a 3 hour long meeting could’ve work just fine. It could happen once per week or two, or two times a day. Seriously not much of a common denominator here, and I myself work at helpdesk, so generally I do know how to narrow stuff down.
The issue was not that pressing for me, because I have many headphones to work from home.

I do not have the bluescreens screenshots now, as I’ve solved the issue like 6 months ago.
All drivers (for Windows, BT, headphones etc.) were up to date.
Issue was happening on a Dell Vostro 3578, Windows 10 Pro, i7-8550U, 16GB RAM.
That’s a laptop from 2018 (works fine with a SSD for office work)
The key spec here however is the BT/Wifi module (I keep wifi turned off on work via ethernet)
Qualcomm QCA9565 Bluetooth 4.0

I’ve tried various drivers for that module, with no difference.
However when analyzing the Windows event log it seemd that (almost) always the bluescree comes after “a device” is trying to get into a low energy mode. Not all such entries resulted in a bluescreen, but this was the only common issue. Which is weird because BT 4.0 should work fine.

Anyway, after disabling the inbuilt wifi/BT module in the device manager, and buying an external USB BT adapter (Asus BT-500 in my case, which is a 5.0 device) everything works fine.