Liberty 4 NC - Sound quality difference between NC and Normal Modes

Overall, very impressed with the sound quality but I have noticed a significant difference in sound quality between NC/Transparency modes compared to Normal Modes. The sound is much fuller, with richer bass in NC and Transparency modes but sounds quite flat in Normal Mode. Is this supposed to be this way or do I have a faulty unit? The equaliser settings are the same in all of the modes but it almost feels like the equaliser doesn’t work in normal mode. The reason this is important is when sitting in an environment where NC or transparency modes are not needed, you will end up using more battery than normal mode unnecessarily.

5 Likes

You might have to adjust the equalizer.

1 Like

Did you ever resolve the issue? I have the same exact issue. It’s not the equalizer setting. I was a professional audio engineer for 8 years. I tried blasting the bass on the EQ in Normal mode and it doesn’t sound even close to the fullness of Noise Canceling mode.

I have an inner ear imbalance / vertigo condition and I need to have the earbuds in Normal mode. I just got these and was hoping they’d work but if they sound horrible in Normal then there’s no point in keeping them.

I plan to contact support so I’ll update if I resolve it.

1 Like

Not resolved. Using the largest size ear tips does reduce the difference in quality but doesn’t resolve it. Soundcore did send me a replacement but same issue. I was starting to think it was just me!

If they sent you replacement, does that mean you already spoke to support about the issue?

Good point about the larger tip. But that might decrease comfort. I’ll try it too.

I’ve searched this entire forum and yours is the only post about this issue. No mention of it on Reddit. I wonder why.