Question 😀

I came across the expression “Folksy music”.
In German we say “Volksmusik” and “Volkstümliche Musik”.

I know that real Bavarian “Volksmusik” is very different from that so called “Volkstümliche Musik”.

Is there such a difference between that true “Folk music” and this “Folksy music” in your countries as well?
Is this expression “Folksy Music” used and correct,
or is there another more used one for this kind of “artificial folk music”?

I could not find something about this theme by searching

I just call it Folk Music (I’m not an expert though):
folk music, type of traditional and generally rural music that originally was passed down through families and other small social groups . Typically, folk music, like folk literature, lives in oral tradition; it is learned through hearing rather than reading.

Here’s some examples:
Scarborough Fair.
Greensleeves.
Early One Morning.
Swing Low Sweet Chariot.
Kalinka.
Auld Lang Syne.
Oh Danny Boy.
Waltzing Matilda.

This is one of my favorites:

I really like this version though (The Anime is excellent as well, but sad)

2 Likes

I know, but how would you call “this artificial folk music”,
which has nothing to do with the folk music.
I know a lot examples in German music scene and I am sure it exists in USA also.
There is a whole “music industry” creating this kind of music which has nothing to do with folk music.

1 Like

I have no clue when it comes to that. I just know of the traditional Folk music. Sorry about that.

2 Likes

I found something may be better :
“tradional folk music” and “contemporary folk music”.

Seems this fits to my “Volksmusik” and “volkstümliche Music” better.

1 Like

I see the term folky as meaning music that is not folk music but may have aspects of the folk music genre.

I would say Germany and US folk music should be somewhat similar to a point. Since a lot of the Germans who came to America settled settled in areas such as WV, Kentucky or Tennessee.